Monday, November 7, 2011

Panhellenic Association Elects New Officers

The University of Kansas Panhellenic Association elected eight new officers for the 2012 Executive Board. Elections were held Monday evening at the Burge Union. Up to five members from all thirteen Panhellenic chapters attended and collectively voted on their chapters’ behalf to select the new Executive Board. Each candidate was selected based on their resume, application questions, and a short speech.

The Panhellenic Association is the governing body of the thirteen NPC-affiliated chapters at the University of Kansas. It serves as a forum for the discussion of current issues facing college students and specifically members of the sorority community. Panhellenic also sets and enforces rules governing membership recruitment, social activities, publicity, and member responsibilities. The eight Executive Officers are responsible for the overall operation of the organization. In addition to the Executive Officers, each chapter has a delegate that serves as the voice for their members. The Council meets at least twice each month.

The 2012 officers are: President: Kathryn Hoven, Gamma Phi Beta; Vice President: Shanah Gaskill, Kappa Alpha Theta; Director for Public Relations: Lizzie Marx, Pi Beta Phi; Director for Risk Management: Christie Holland, Alpha Gamma Delta; Director for Recruitment: Whitlee Douthitt, Delta Delta Delta; Director for Interfraternal Relations: Allison Chael, Delta Gamma; Director for Educational Programs and Scholarship: Kelly Murphy, Alpha Delta Pi; Director for Community Service and Philanthropy: Christie Van Allen, Kappa Kappa Gamma.

For more information on the organization and its officers, please visit

No comments:

Post a Comment